Court Grants Eight Alleged Coup plotters GH¢10 million bail Each

Court Grants Eight Alleged Coup plotters GH¢10 million bail Each

An Accra High Court has granted bail to eight persons accused of plotting a coup to destabilize the country and overthrow the government following an application by their lawyer, Mr. Kodzoga Adawudu.

Justice Samuel Asiedu, a Justice of the Court of Appeal with additional responsibility as a High Court judge granted bail in a sum of GH¢ 10 million to each of the eight persons totaling a sum of GH¢ 80 million.

The bail granted comes along with two sureties to be justified by the High court.

The eight accused persons are Dr. Frederick Mac -Palm, the man accused of masterminding the alleged plot, Colonel Samuel Kodzo Gameli, Donya Kafui, Bright Alan Debrah Ofosu, Johannes Zipki, Corporal Seidu Abubakar, Lance Corporal Ali Solomon, and Corporal Sylvester Akanpewon.

These eight persons have been instructed by the High court to report themselves to the police every two weeks and to also deposit their passports to the court's registrar to ensure they don't become fugitives.

However, a Senior State Attorney, Ms. Hilda Craig opposed the bail granted by the Judge.

The eight are part of a ten-member group calling itself Take Action Ghana( TAG) accused by the state of plotting a coup to overthrow the government.

Two other accused persons - Assistant Commissioner of Police (ACP) Dr. Benjamin Agordzo and Warrant Officer (II) Esther Saan Dekuwine are already on bail.


The Government in September last year issued a statement detailing the arrest of three alleged coup plotters named Frederick Yao Mac-Palm, Ezor Kafui, and Bright Allan Debrah Ofosu.

According to the statement, the plot had "the ultimate aim of destabilizing the country".

The statement added that the group intended to obtain weapons from the military and were aiming to recruit and radicalize a base of young people to destabilize the country.

After members of the group have been arrested and proceeded to court, the following charges were made by the court.

Dr. Mac-Palm, Kafui, Debrah, Dekuwine, Abubakar, L/Cpl Akanpewon and Zikpi have been charged with conspiracy to commit treason felony and treason felony, while Dr. Mac-Palm and Kafui have been separately charged with conspiracy to possess explosives and ammunition without lawful excuse and possession of explosives and ammunition without lawful excuse.

Col. Gameli and ACP Dr. Agordzo have been charged with abetment to treason felony.

On March 3, 2020, the Kaneshie District Court committed the 10 accused persons to stand trial at the High Court.

The trial is expected to start on June 5, 2020.